Claussen’s

 
 
 
 

What we did

Brand Identity

Tone of Voice

Web Design

Signage Design

Instagram Launch Collateral

 

Claussen’s are boutique studio apartments in Five Points, Columbia, South Carolina.

The Brief: To help the folks behind Claussen’s, formerly known in its past life as Claussen’s Bakery, to bring clarity to its vision, a visual identity, a voice and tone. To transform a once beloved then forgotten structure back to life was a project we were thrilled to tackle. As a part of Columbia’s longtime history, the new Claussen's embraces the historic aspects of the building making it a beautiful, new residential offering in the lively neighborhood of Downtown Columbia.

 
 
 
Claussens_Logo_Green_Brown_1.png
 
 

Be immersed in the thriving village of Five Points. Claussen's is located among some of the most iconic establishments in Downtown Columbia.

 
 
 
Claussens-11.jpg
Claussens-29.jpg
 
 

A Stroll Down Memory Lane

Claussen’s Bakery is significant for its contribution to the industrial and commercial development of Columbia. In addition, the design of the building is significant as an early instance in Columbia of the expression of a corporate image through architecture. The bakery was constructed in 1928 in Columbia for George Frederick Claussen. He was the grandson of Johann Christian Heinrich Claussen, a German immigrant who had established a steam bakery in Charleston in the nineteenth century.

During the first half of the twentieth century the family business was expanded and bakeries were built in Greenville, South Carolina, and in Augusta and Savannah, Georgia, as well as in Columbia. By 1940, Claussen’s was employing several hundred in the Charleston, Columbia, and Greenville bakeries. The Columbia bakery ceased operating in 1963. It is the only intact manifestation of this enterprise in the state. The two-story brick building, in its design and form, is a typical twentieth century commercial structure. It is trapezoidal in plan and contains a total of 25,000 square feet.

The architect adapted the building to its hillside site and railroad access. Listed in the National Register March 9, 1987.

 
 
 
Claussens-1.jpg
Claussens-50.jpg
 
 
31208392868_5551f89160_o-2.jpg
 
 
Claussens-49.jpg
Claussens-34.jpg
 
 
31208393198_54c0c42a4a_o-2.jpg